Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



(Incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability under the Companies Ordinance)

(Stock Code: 00144)

INTERIM DIVIDEND FOR THE SIX MONTHS ENDED 30 JUNE 2022

- 1. The Form of Election should be lodged with the Share Registrar of the Company **not later than 4:30 p.m. on Wednesday, 2 November 2022.** No Form of Election is required if Shareholders elect to receive the Interim Dividend in new Shares.
- 2. Formula for calculation of scrip dividend entitlements is set out below.

On 30 August 2022, the board of directors (the "Board") of China Merchants Port Holdings Company Limited (the "Company") had declared an interim dividend for the six months ended 30 June 2022 (the "Interim Dividend") in scrip form to shareholders whose names appear on the register of members of the Company on 5 October 2022 (the "Record Date") equivalent to HK\$0.22 per ordinary share of the Company (the "Share(s)") with an alternative to the shareholders of the Company (the "Shareholder(s)") to elect to receive the Interim Dividend in cash in lieu of all or part of their scrip dividend entitlements.

A circular setting out details of the Interim Dividend (the "Scrip Dividend Circular") was sent to the Shareholders on 10 October 2022. This announcement should be read in conjunction with, and is qualified by, the Scrip Dividend Circular. It was mentioned, among others, that for the purpose of calculating the number of new Shares to be allotted, the market value of a new Share will be calculated as an amount equal to the average closing price of one Share on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited (the "HKSE") for the five consecutive trading days (on which such price is available) up to and including 19 October 2022. It is now determined that the average closing price is HK\$9.58. Accordingly, the number of new Shares

which Shareholders will receive, in respect of the existing Shares registered in their names as at the Record Date will be calculated as follows:-

The number of new Shares to be received will be rounded down to the nearest whole number of the new Shares. Fractional entitlements to new Shares will be aggregated and sold and the benefit thereof will accrue to the Company. The new Shares to be issued in respect of the Interim Dividend will rank pari passu in all respects with the existing Shares except that they shall not rank for the Interim Dividend.

Shareholders who wish to receive the Interim Dividend in cash, or partly in cash and partly in new Shares are reminded that the Form of Election must be completed and returned to the Share Registrar of the Company, Computershare Hong Kong Investor Services Limited at 17M Floor, Hopewell Centre, 183 Queen's Road East, Wan Chai, Hong Kong not later than 4:30 p.m. on Wednesday, 2 November 2022. If any Shareholder does not complete and return the Form of Election by not later than 4:30 p.m. on Wednesday, 2 November 2022, the Shareholder will receive the Interim Dividend in the form of new Shares. No Form of Election is required if Shareholders elect to receive the Interim Dividend in new Shares.

Application will be made to the Listing Committee of the HKSE for the grant of the listing of, and permission to deal in, the new Shares. Share certificates for the new Shares and/or cheques for cash dividend will be posted by ordinary mail to those Shareholders entitled thereto at their own risk on or around Monday, 21 November 2022.

By Order of the Board

China Merchants Port Holdings Company Limited

Deng Renjie

Chairman

Hong Kong, 19 October 2022

As at the date of this announcement, the Board comprises Mr. Wang Xiufeng, Mr. Yim Kong, Mr. Yang Guolin and Mr. Xu Song as Executive Directors; Mr. Deng Renjie, Mr. Liu Weiwu and Mr. Deng Weidong as Non-Executive Directors; and Mr. Kut Ying Hay, Mr. Lee Yip Wah Peter, Mr. Li Ka Fai David, Mr. Bong Shu Ying Francis and Ms. Wong Pui Wah as Independent Non-Executive Directors.