Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



CATHAY MEDIA AND EDUCATION GROUP INC. 華夏視聽教育集團

(incorporated in the Cayman Islands with limited liability) (Stock Code: 1981)

DELAY IN DESPATCH OF CIRCULAR

MAJOR TRANSACTION AND CONNECTED TRANSACTION DISPOSAL OF BEIJING SHUIMU HUAXIA EDUCATION & TECHNOLOGY CO., LTD.

Reference is made to the announcement of Cathay Media and Education Group Inc. (the "**Company**") dated 28 March 2022 in relation to, among others, the disposal of Beijing Shuimu Huaxia Education & Technology Co., Ltd. (the "**Announcement**"). Capitalised terms used herein shall have the same meanings as those defined in the Announcement unless the context requires otherwise.

This announcement is made pursuant to Rule 14.36A of the Listing Rules. As disclosed in the Announcement, a circular (the "**Circular**") containing, inter alia, further details of the Disposal is expected to be despatched to the Shareholders on or before 20 April 2022. However, as the Company requires additional time to prepare, finalise and complete certain information to be contained in the Circular, including financial information relating to the statement of indebtedness and sufficiency of working capital of the Company, it is expected that the despatch date of the Circular will be postponed to a date on or before 20 May 2022 and accordingly the Company has applied for a waiver ("Waiver") from the Stock Exchange from strict compliance with Rule 14.41(a) of the Listing Rules.

The Company will make a further announcement once the Company obtains approval of the Waiver from the Stock Exchange.

By order of the Board Cathay Media and Education Group Inc. Pu Shulin Chairman and executive Director

Hong Kong, 20 April 2022

As at the date of this announcement, the executive directors are Mr. Pu Shulin, Mr. Sun Haitao, Mr. Wu Ye and Mr. Yan Xiang and the independent non-executive directors are Mr. Zhang Jizhong, Mr. Lee Cheuk Yin Dannis and Mr. Huang Yu.