Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



## The Bank of East Asia, Limited

## 東亞銀行有限公司

(Incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability in 1918) (Stock Code: 23)

## SUPPLEMENTAL ANNOUNCEMENT IN RELATION TO CONNECTED TRANSACTION

Reference is made to the announcement (the "**Announcement**") of The Bank of East Asia, Limited (the "**Bank**") dated 30<sup>th</sup> October, 2020 in relation to a connected transaction relating to the secondary purchase of loan. Unless the context requires otherwise, capitalised terms used herein shall have the same meanings as those defined in the Announcement.

The Board wishes to provide the Shareholders and potential investors of the Bank with further information on the identity of the ultimate beneficial owner of SMBC as set out below.

To the best of the Directors' knowledge, information and belief and having made all reasonable enquiries, the ultimate beneficial owner of SMBC is Sumitomo Mitsui Financial Group, Inc., which is a financial holding company with its group members engaged principally in a diverse range of financial services, including commercial banking, leasing, securities, consumer finance and other services.

By order of the Board Alson LAW Chun-tak Company Secretary

Hong Kong, 6th November, 2020

As at the date of this announcement, the Board of Directors of the Bank comprises Dr. the Hon. Sir David LI Kwok-po# (Executive Chairman), Professor Arthur LI Kwok-cheung\* (Deputy Chairman), Dr. Allan WONG Chi-yun\*\* (Deputy Chairman), Mr. Aubrey LI Kwok-sing\*, Mr. Winston LO Yau-lai\*, Mr. Stephen Charles LI Kwok-sze\*, Mr. Adrian David LI Man-kiu# (Co-Chief Executive), Mr. Brian David LI Man-bun# (Co-Chief Executive), Dr. Daryl NG Winkong\*, Mr. Masayuki OKU\*, Dr. the Hon. Rita FAN HSU Lai-tai\*\*, Mr. Meocre LI Kwok-wing\*\*, Dr. the Hon. Henry TANG Ying-yen\*\*, Dr. Delman LEE\*\* and Mr. William Junior Guilherme DOO\*\*.

- # Executive Director
- \* Non-executive Director

<sup>\*\*</sup> Independent Non-executive Director