Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



## SEMICONDUCTOR MANUFACTURING INTERNATIONAL CORPORATION 中 芯 國 際 集 成 電 路 製 造 有 限 公 司 \*

(Incorporated in the Cayman Islands with limited liability)
(Stock Code: 981)

## POLL RESULTS OF THE 2020 THIRD EXTRAORDINARY GENERAL MEETING HELD ON 23 JUNE 2020

The Company announces that the proposed resolutions set out in the notice of the 2020 Third EGM were duly passed by the Independent Shareholders by way of poll at the 2020 Third EGM held on 23 June 2020.

Reference is made to the circular of the Company dated 6 June 2020 (the "Circular") in relation to, among other things, the following:

- (1) the New JV Agreement and the New Capital Contribution Agreement; and
- (2) the notice of the 2020 third extraordinary general meeting of the Company (the "2020 Third EGM").

Unless otherwise specified, capitalised terms used herein shall have the same meanings as defined in the Circular.

### POLL RESULTS OF THE 2020 THIRD EGM

The Company announces that the proposed resolution set out in the notice of the 2020 Third EGM contained in the Circular were duly passed by the Independent Shareholders by way of poll at the 2020 Third EGM held on 23 June 2020.

As at the date of the 2020 Third EGM, the total number of Shares in issue was 5,563,539,866 Shares. The Shareholders and authorised proxies holding an aggregate of 5,523,441,116 Shares, representing 99.28% of the total Shares in issue were present at the commencement of the 2020 Third EGM.

As at the date of the 2020 Third EGM:

- (1) the total number of Shares entitling the holders to attend and vote for or against the ordinary resolution at the 2020 Third EGM was 4,766,484,965 Shares;
- (2) the number of Shares entitling the holders to attend the 2020 Third EGM and abstain from voting in favour of the proposed resolution as set out in rule 13.40 of the Listing Rules at the 2020 Third EGM was nil: and
- (3) there were no Shares entitling the holders to attend and vote only against the resolution at the 2020 Third EGM.

As set out in the Circular and in accordance with the Listing Rules, as China IC Fund is a connected person of the Company, its wholly-owned subsidiary Xinxin (Hongkong) Capital Co., Limited and its other associates (as defined in the Listing Rules), holding 797,054,901 Shares representing approximately 14.33% of the total issued share capital of the Company as at the date of the 2020 Third EGM, were required to abstain from voting on the ordinary resolution to approve the New JV Agreement and the New Capital Contribution Agreement. The Company confirms that each of Xinxin (Hongkong) Capital Co., Limited and other associates of China IC Fund had abstained from voting at the 2020 Third EGM pursuant to the aforesaid arrangements.

The number of Shares represented by votes for and against the respective resolution at the 2020 Third EGM was as follows:

ODDINA DV DEGOT TÆTON		No. of Votes (%)	
	ORDINARY RESOLUTION	FOR	AGAINST
a) b)	To approve, confirm and ratify the joint venture agreement dated 15 May 2020 (the "New JV Agreement") entered into among SMIC Holdings Corporation ("SMIC Holdings"), China Integrated Circuit Industry Investment Fund Co., Ltd. ("China IC Fund"), China Integrated Circuit Industry Investment Fund (Phase II) Co., Ltd. ("China IC Fund II"), Shanghai Integrated Circuit Industry Investment Fund Co., Ltd. ("Shanghai IC Fund") and Shanghai Integrated Circuit Industry Investment Fund (Phase II) Co., Ltd. ("Shanghai IC Fund II") in relation to the proposed capital contribution (the "Capital Contribution") to the registered capital of Semiconductor Manufacturing South China Corporation ("SMSC") and the transactions contemplated thereunder;  To approve, confirm and ratify the capital contribution agreement dated 15 May 2020 (the "New Capital Contribution Agreement") entered into among SMIC Holdings, China IC Fund, China IC Fund II, Shanghai IC Fund, Shanghai IC Fund II and SMSC in relation to the Capital Contribution to the registered capital of SMSC and the transactions contemplated thereunder; and	1,352,437,052 99.999978%	300 0.000022%
c)	To authorise any director(s) of the Company for and on behalf of the Company, to enter into any agreement, deed or instrument and/or to execute and deliver all such documents and/or do all such acts on behalf of the Company as he/she may consider necessary, desirable or expedient for the purpose of, or in connection with (i) the implementations and completion of the New JV Agreement, the New Capital Contribution Agreement and transactions contemplated thereunder; and/or (ii) any amendment, variation or modification of the New JV Agreement, the New Capital Contribution Agreement and the transactions contemplated thereunder upon such terms and conditions as the board of directors of the Company may think fit.		

The full text of the resolution above is set out in the Notice of the 2020 Third EGM contained in the Circular.

Computershare Hong Kong Investor Services Limited, Hong Kong share registrar of the Company, acted as the scrutineer for the vote-taking at the 2020 Third EGM. The work performed by Computershare Hong Kong Investors Services Limited did not include provision of any assurance or advice on matters of legal interpretation or legal entitlement to vote.

# By order of the Board Semiconductor Manufacturing International Corporation Gao Yonggang

Executive Director, Chief Financial Officer and Joint Company Secretary

Shanghai, PRC 23 June 2020

As at the date of this announcement, the directors of the Company are:

### **Executive Directors**

ZHOU Zixue (Chairman)
ZHAO Haijun (Co-Chief Executive Officer)
LIANG Mong Song (Co-Chief Executive Officer)
GAO Yonggang (Chief Financial Officer and Joint Company Secretary)

### **Non-executive Directors**

CHEN Shanzhi ZHOU Jie REN Kai LU Jun TONG Guohua

### **Independent Non-executive Directors**

William Tudor BROWN CONG Jingsheng Jason LAU Lawrence Juen-Yee FAN Ren Da Anthony YOUNG Kwang Leei

<sup>\*</sup> For identification purposes only